Faith Focused Dating. Create your Free Profile and meet your Match! Sign Up for Free

info: Please Sign Up or Sign In to continue.

A place to learn, mingle, and share

This room is dedicated to those who are facing the challenge of raising children without the support of a spouse. This is a place to share ideas and lend mutual support.

Saint Rita is known to be a patroness for abused wives and mourning women.
Learn More: Saint Rita

Hi Catholic Match friends!

I have a question about dealing with toddlers -- I would gladly welcome any and all opinions or tidbits of advice you have to give me!!

I am a pediatric nurse, and I currently work in home health. My primary patient is a 3 year old boy who really and truly is the sweetest, most beautiful boy, especially considering all that he's been through. However, he is still 3, and he is at the height of his defiant stage. Everything is a battle, and lately he's also taken to hitting and punching when he doesn't get his way. Time outs don't work for him, he runs away and throws things and is constantly being put back in time out. I know I should be consistent with my consequences for his actions, but if that's the case, then he's in time out all day.

He also is one of 6 children who are constantly together, and the oldest is 7 and is a bully -- especially to my little one. I know that this is an exacerbating factor, and when they are separate, things normally go smoothly. However, I am not able to separate them all the time, and if they are never together my patient will never learn the good behaviors we're trying to teach him.

And the last factor is that he's still a foster child. So even his parents cannot do anything other than "talking to him" and time outs.

Do any of you with experience with this type of disciplinary problem have any suggestions or ideas of methods I could use to reinforce good behavior and to "punish" his bad behaviors?

I am at my wits end! wide eyed

THANK YOU!!

Aug 17th 2012 new