Faith Focused Dating. Create your Free Profile and meet your Match!

A place to learn, mingle, and share

This room is for general discussion that doesn't specifically fit into one of the other CatholicMatch rooms. Topics should not be overly serious as this is to be more of a "cafe setting."

Saint Peter's Square was created so that more people could be in the presence of the Pope and was named after Saint Peter, one of Jesus's apostles.
Learn More: Saint Peter

Calling all Nerds!

Jan 27th 2013 new

It doesn't seem like there have been very many threads about nature or science in a while - how about we change that and share something cool about this beautiful and fascinating world? Here's a neat nature/science video!

www.nikonsmallworld.com

I'm not a scientist, just a fan laughing, so I can't say I really understand the processes going on, but I think it's really neat how life at the cellular level often seems to look a lot like teeny-tiny versions of things you can see without a microscope. Or sometimes completely alien, but that's another story.

I know there are other nerds and nature lovers on here - have any of you seen anything or heard anything wild in the world of science lately?

Jan 27th 2013 new

(Quote) Bernadette-605528 said: share something cool about this beautiful and fascinating world?
(Quote) Bernadette-605528 said: share something cool about this beautiful and fascinating world?
--hide--

I have not seen anything new-
but I am imagining all of the tiny insect eggs preparing to hatch-
many people watch for praying mantids
or even hatch them out indoors
I watch for their cousins(vegetarian cousins) the stick insects.

Jan 27th 2013 new

Oh, yes! Every winter I'd look for praying mantis egg cases in the bushes. Then watch them in the spring to see the teeny tiny juveniles appear :) Fearsome predators at less than a quarter inch long!

Jan 27th 2013 new