Faith Focused Dating. Create your Free Profile and meet your Match! Sign Up for Free
A place to learn, mingle, and share

This room is for those who have lost a spouse and need support or who can provide support to those who have.

Saint Paula is the patron saint of widows and Saint Stephen is the patron saint of deacons
Learn More: Saint Stephen and Saint Paula

When you take the ring off ?

Feb 5th 2013 new

So I am a recent widower and I am also new to CM and I had not seen this topic in the forum titles and I wanted to get folks thoughts on when do you take your wedding ring off. Did folks feel comfortable after certain amout of time ? Do you wait for your first face to face date as I assume the date will not go well if you have your wedding ring on ?

Feb 5th 2013 new

If you are wearing a ring, I don't think any CM woman will go near you.

That said, I felt ready to remove my ring after 6 months but I kept it on for a full year because my older kids were very close to their dad and I figured they'd resent it. The day I took it off, my six-year old asked, "Why aren't you wearing your ring?" Immediately the older kids' heads went up with fire in their eyes. I said, "Because I'm not married" and that was the end of that.

If you have kids, or close in-laws, take their feeling under consideration. And don't rush yourself!

Feb 5th 2013 new

Marge thank for your thoughts. I will defintely take my ring off before the first date and yeah I heard that 6 months is typical. I also understand the family dynamics.

Feb 5th 2013 new

It used to be that the period of mourning was a year and a day. Now, I think it is more appropriate that grieving ends when the surviving spouse is ready for it to end. I am not concerned that someone may feel it disrespectful of me to begin dating at whatever time I choose to do so. The proper time to honor and respect one's wife is while she is living.