Faith Focused Dating. Create your Free Profile and meet your Match! Sign Up for Free

info: Please Sign Up or Sign In to continue.

info: Please Sign Up or Sign In to continue.

A place to learn, mingle, and share

Discussion related to living as a Catholic in the single state of life. As long as a topic is being discussed from the perspective of a single Catholic then it will be on-topic.

Tobias and Sarah's story is from the Book of Tobit, and his journey is guided by Saint Raphael.
Learn More: Tobias & Sarah as led by Saint Raphael

Mar 14th 2013 new

HI Chuka,

This is a great question. I was a DRE and/or youth leader for fifteen years before I went back to school. And, now I am a scientist. One of my major professors was raised Catholic but as she says "gave up that superstitious nonsense by the time she was seven". My other major professor (I have co-chairs for my dissertation) is what can only be described as an evangelical atheist. He said to me, "I don't understand how you can be so smart and believe in fairy tales." When I was applying for one of my first scholarships, I was informed by the department chair not to discuss my religious education career and if I hadn't read anything but a religious text to make sure I read something else for the essay which was "discuss the most recent book you've read". In my cohort, came in a woman who is married to a Physics professor and was an avowed atheist and feminist. She and I met in a training conference for those of us who would be teaching, one of the discussion topics had to do with the handling the debate between creationists and evolutionists in the classroom. She was of course derisive as were many there. I said it is like comparing apples and oranges, that I was taught evolution by Catholic nuns and that there is no contradiction to the faith. The professor leading the discussion -- to my surprise -- agreed with me and seemed completely relieved that someone had finally come at it from that direction. My at