Faith Focused Dating. Create your Free Profile and meet your Match!

A place to learn, mingle, and share

This room is dedicated to those who are facing the challenge of raising children without the support of a spouse. This is a place to share ideas and lend mutual support.

Saint Rita is known to be a patroness for abused wives and mourning women.
Learn More: Saint Rita

Need Advice

May 19th 2013 new
I have been helping my brother out for the past several months with babysitting his three kids during the weekdays and having them sleep over on weekends. I am running out of ideas on how to keep them busy. The ages are 8, 7 and 5. I'm trying to keep the expenses down so mostly looking for freebie types of things to do. I found a park that has a water park but there were mostly younger kids doing that. It's hot here during the day so we've been staying inside watching DVD's or I let them go into the pool. These kids are active. They do wear me out after a couple of hours. I think this is because they argue a lot. Their mom is in Rehab for six months and my brother has long hours at work. I pick them up from daycare at 6 then Chuck picks them up by 10. I am working and have to get up by 6 A.M. I've asked for help from other family members because besides me the only other helpers is their mom's sister and mother. within two weeks their grown sister will be helping us. My 35 yr old daughter came down from N.FL to help me too but she had to return to N. FL for a week. I've got the kids tomorrow from 4 - 10 P.M. then again M, T, W, from 6 - 10. Any ideas will be greatly appreciated. :)
May 19th 2013 new
Library, puppets, help in the kitchen, biking, making kites, dance to music, home made play dough.... can be found on line. They should be reading at least twenty minutes a day.
May 19th 2013 new
1. Bless you for taking them in. This is probably the most generous thing you can do for your brother. You may be the only stability the kids have.