Faith Focused Dating. Create your Free Profile and meet your Match!

A place to learn, mingle, and share

Discussion related to living as a Catholic in the single state of life. As long as a topic is being discussed from the perspective of a single Catholic then it will be on-topic.

Tobias and Sarah's story is from the Book of Tobit, and his journey is guided by Saint Raphael.
Learn More: Tobias & Sarah as led by Saint Raphael

Lately, I've noticed more than half of the site's members--male and female--have graduate degrees, MBAs and doctorates. I have a mere bachelors degree and that seems barely good enough.

Is that a trend?
Nov 29th 2013 new
I don't have a degree, but I've worked hard all my life. I think there is more importance placed on having a degree today in order to succeed or stand out in today's marketplace. I certainly expect my children to go to college as I want them to have any advantage attainable. More than a trend, it seems a matter of economics.
Nov 29th 2013 new
Josh, I never went to college after High School. I chose to follow in my fathers footsteps and be a farmer after school. Not a smart thing to do in the 80's when the farm economy was in the pits. Looking back I wish I would of attended some post secondary type of schooling. But does this make me dumb? If I was to put together a resume it would say I have served on the Board of directors of a company that has annual sales of over 500 million dollars for the past 15 years. I am treasure for a non profit organization that has over 1800 members and I serve on a rural fire board that is in charge of setting the budget for buying equipment and supplies for the volunteer fire and rescue teams.
I attend several workshops every winter and I remember one of the speakers once made a comment on levels of educated people. From the dirty work to the brains behind NASA, we have all types of jobs to be filled regardless of what level of education you may have.
Nov 29th 2013 new