Faith Focused Dating. Create your Free Profile and meet your Match! Sign Up for Free

info: Please Sign Up or Sign In to continue.

info: Please Sign Up or Sign In to continue.

A place to learn, mingle, and share

This is the place to post any questions about the way that CatholicMatch works or make suggestions. This room is open to both free and subscribing members.

Saint Anthony is the patron of lost things and missing persons.
Learn More:Saint Anthony

Hi there,

I want to give everyone a heads-up that posting too much information about your worklife and where you live on your profile can allow someone to find you and contact you off of Catholic Match.

This happened to be very recently. In my profile, I wrote about where I lived and what I did for a living. Because I am a teacher in a unique part of Canada, this person did an extensive internet search and ended up finding my work email-which is posted online. Because name, "Rosanna" is a bit unique, he was able to put two and two together and deduct that the person was me.

I do not believe he was able to contact me online for some reason. So he did a internet search which took hours and hours until he found my work email.

He sent me two emails. One that was 1500 words long, the other had my picture. He tried to add me to his Skype and his Talk. When he was removed from the site, he sent me another 1500 word email. The email got through to my regular Inbox despite the fact that I blocked him.

It was all very creepy to think that someone I've never met on the other side of the world can become so obsessed with me and even have pictures of me on his computer. Even more creepy is that he was able to find me..from a few simple clues from my profile.

I have since modified my profile so that it not as easy to find my identity online.

So ladies...please be careful! It's not so hard for someone to find your identity online!!!

PS I hope this post is OK with CM, if not simply remove it.
Jan 11 new