Faith Focused Dating. Create your Free Profile and meet your Match!

A place to learn, mingle, and share

This room is for supportive and informative discussion about divorce and/or the annulment process. All posters must have been previously divorced or annulled.

Saint Eugene De Mazenod is patron of dysfunctional families & Saint Fabiola obtained a divorce from her first husband prior to devoting her life to charitable works.
Learn More: Saint Eugene De Mazenod and Saint Fabiola

Rejection always hurts

Aug 9th 2014 new
I'm new to Catholic Match and felt blessed when after only a few days, I met what I thought was a very nice man. We clicked almost instantly and communicated frequently throughout the day for about a week. Then, for no apparent reason, he abruptly stopped communication, and I haven't heard from him since. His membership to Catholic Match has lapsed, so he's no longer here (although he has my phone number), so I feel comfortable saying out loud that rejection hurts, and unexplained rejection hurts most of all. I understand that I knew this man for only a week -- we hadn't even met in person yet --, and that we were just in the very early stages of a relationship. I had no right to have any expectations of him. But we had grown close enough that I had taken a risk and opened up to him -- and he had seemed to have done the same. After a few days of zero response from him, I realized and accepted that for whatever reason, he no longer wanted to continue getting to know me. I texted him and wished him well, and that was that. He may never have read the text, but it made me feel better to give myself some closure. Because we knew each other for such a short period of time, I've been able to pick up fairly easily and go on with my life, but I will say that I had a couple of days of pain and self-doubt. So why am I posting this message? I guess I feel the need to say out loud that I took a risk, that I opened up a little after years of staying within mysel