Faith Focused Dating. Create your Free Profile and meet your Match! Sign Up for Free
A place to learn, mingle, and share

This room is for discussion for anyone who adheres to the Extraordinary form of the mass and any issues related to the practices of Eastern Rite Catholicism.

Saint Athanasius is counted as one of the four Great Doctors of the Church.
Learn More:Saint Athanasius

Learning Latin!

07/07/2012 new

I'm struggling to learn Latin. Does anybody know any good tips or programmes/resources to help?

07/07/2012 new
(Quote) Mark-642218 said: I'm struggling to learn Latin. Does anybody know any good tips or programmes/resources to help?
(Quote) Mark-642218 said:

I'm struggling to learn Latin. Does anybody know any good tips or programmes/resources to help?

--hide--

I studied Latin for 4-1/2 years. It is not the easiest language for adults to learn. I learned it as a boy. Now I attend Latin mass every Sunday, and I enjoy it very much.

The first and most basic things you need to know are all of the endings for all the masculine, feminine and neuter forms and for every case and tense. That is a lot of work right there.

Sum Es Est Sumus Estis Sunt

Bam Bas Bat Bamis Batis Bant

Ero Eris Erit Erimus Eritis Erunt

Etc...

I used to have some Latin flash cards, but I gave them to my son when he was studying Latin at Jesuit about 10 years ago. I would suggest that to help you with the vocabulary

agricola, agricolae - farmer

amo, amare, amavi, amatus - love, like

And so on...

Good luck!
07/08/2012 new
rosetta stone :)
07/08/2012 new

(Quote) Mark-642218 said: I'm struggling to learn Latin. Does anybody know any good tips or programmes/resources to help...

--hide--

I've been trying to do that in my spare time for the past year or so also. I've been using the documents posted here, which have been very useful.

www.bishopleland.org

07/09/2012 new